SoU

Musically me

In General thoughts on July 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm

I’ve been asked how much time I spend per day listening to music. The question quite surprised me. It was like : “How much time per day do you spend on revision?”

Maybe the person who asked me that has a different concept of music. For me it’s an inherent part of my everyday life, so I can’t precisely say how much time I spend listening to music. Yet, I know my life would’ve been a tuneless song without music.

Music inspires me, encourages me, makes me wonder and dream. For instance right now am writing this article with Buddha Bar’s Secret Love playing on. It helps me to focus also when I’m in need of concentration – when programming for example.

Besides music is like my life’s record. Songs that denote a phase of my life, special people I’ve come across or specific moments that I hold at heart.

Hence, this is the time I spend with music – my life. It’s a companion through years, thick or thin, a support in sad or happy times. My inspiration among others, that’s musically me…

  1. you are right.. music can change the whole feelings in any environment you are. music has change the world a lot. good to know that music is your companion.

  2. Any other recommendations other than Buddha Bar? 🙂

  3. @414: Sure there are other recommendations, all depends on your style of music though. I recently discovered Adele with my fav song from her being Somebody like you. You also have Coldplay, Maroon 5, Michael Bublé, Jason Mraz, KT Tunstall, Joan Osbourne and so many more. I usually listen to music according to my moods so I’m quite open to very different types. However this excludes too commercial music as it sounds like crap and has no meaning. 😉

  4. Thanks, I will check out Adele. As for the others you mentioned I try to avoid them like plague. 🙂

    Some of the artists on my playlist include:

    – Seu Jorge
    – Bebel Gilberto
    – Natasha Atlas
    – Lisa Gerrard
    – Meiko Kanji

    depending on mood swings that is.

  5. Well that’s the beauty of music – there’s a variety for every tastes, even bad ones (lady gaga lol). I’ve been thinking maybe you’ll like Morcheeba then. Have a try and let me know.

    I’ve listened to some songs of Natasha Atlas today. Very nice indeed, helped a bit in keeping the focus on work 😉 I really like the Turkish ‘drum’ it gives a very oriental and cultural touch plus it sure gives vibes to the songs 😉

  6. I know of Morcheeba and they are very good indeed. Massive Attack as well.

    The Turkish ‘drum’ is called a Darbuka and it adds addictive bass rythms to music. You should also check out Adam’s Lullaby by Natasha Atlas – it has a classical tone to it.

    If you want hints of darbuka with rock and pop riffs you should check out Superstar by Sibel Tuzun, a Turkish musician.

    Else, Bebel Gilberto makes wonderful songs too. Especially if you want to work lazily on a Friday. Check out Every Morning by her.

    (^^)b

  7. Bebel is really great 😀 Indeed suitable for a Friday 😉

    Next am gonna check Sibel Tuzun hehe

  8. Weird enough, these days it’s Enrique who’s giving me the boost while working haha!!!

Leave a Reply

