SoU

Alone in a … crowd

In General thoughts on June 4, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Someone on my Facebook friends’ list once put up a status asking whether “you’ve ever felt alone in a crowd”. To that, I’ve found my answer today.

Yes, I do. I can’t say if it is only recently that I feel so but it sure does feel lonely in a crowd of unknown or at times known people. However, I’d prefer this than to feel alone on my own in isolation. It didn’t really bother me. I felt like an observer.

The loneliness had some attracting factor to it. I could enjoy some peace of mind while having people buzzing around – all busy with their Saturday chores. It felt like I had put on pause while others were still on play. It was a living picture of life displaying in front of me.

I smiled alone at this sight and at my own feelings. Strange enough it felt like a very resourceful moment. It was relaxing and comforting. Maybe because humans are gregarious in nature. The very presence of other persons is reassuring even if none of them is an acquaintance.  It has been quite an interesting experience. A different look on the world around me, I could sense life in a different light – a wishful sensation of being alive!

  1. Sou! I like the way you look at ‘being alone in a crowd’. This expression is usually associated with sadness. Oftentimes, I feel alone in a crowd too. But unlike you, I’d rather be alone with myself. I can’t really explain why, I just feel better that way.

Leave a Reply

